Invest in the Peace River Regional District

British Columbia, Canada

Economic Development Contact

Jennifer Moore  |  Regional Economic Development Officer
250-785-5969  |  

The Peace River Regional District was established in 1987. The area of land within the jurisdiction included all of the land that lies south of of the 58th parallel and east of the Rockies to the Alberta border.

The Peace River Regional District encompass approximately twelve million hectares. The population resides in four electoral areas and seven municipalities including the District of Chetwynd, the City of Dawson Creek, the City of Fort St. John, the District of Hudson's Hope, the Village of Pouce Coupe, the District of Taylor, and the District of Tumbler Ridge.

The topography of the region varies from Rocky Mountains in the west to the Interior Plains in the easter sections. Most of the land is drained by the Peace River, the Fort Nelson River, or their tributaries.

The vibrant economy of the Peace River Regional District is varied and comprised mainly of agriculture, mining, manufacturing, petroleum exploration and development, hydro-electric power generation, and forestry. New developments in the Peace River region include an increase in tourism, vast coal resources in the Rocky Mountain foothills, increased utilization of aspen in pulp and wood products, diversification in the agricultural sector and an increase in natural gas and petroleum exploration, development and processing.

Local Infrastructure Projects

Community Economic Development Contact

Jennifer Moore
Regional Economic Development Officer
North Peace Economic Development Commission

Sue Kenny
South Peace Economic Development Commission


Community Contacts

Community Contact

Chris Cvik
Chief Administrative Officer
Peace River Regional District

Chamber of Commerce Contact

Fort St. John & District Chamber of Commerce

Community Futures Contact

Community Futures Peace Liard